Showing his vulnerability

My surgeon probably won’t remember the time he held my hand, but it’s a moment that I hold on to. It wasn’t the physical touch that was important, it was because in that instant, he let his guard down and showed me his vulnerability. For that brief moment, the focus wasn’t on my medical care, but on how he was feeling.

There was an honestly about his gesture, that could not have been expressed in words. He became more human, showing empathy in my suffering. He seemed genuinely sorry, helping me trust that he wanted to learn and reduce risk to other patients. Those are the feelings that I hold on to, they bring me calm and peace of mind.

I’m not advocating that after complications, surgeons should always hold the hands of their patients, sometimes that connection just isn’t there. However, they can still share an intimate moment with that patient, a moment of contemplation. As simple as quietly sitting at their patient’s bedside, and in a gentle tone, reassuring them that they care.

Leave a comment