Top 5

If you only have time to read a few of my blogs, these are the most important to me

Reassuring the patient

This blog is about the turning point, when I first started opening up to the idea that my surgeon was sorry.

Talking to an independent person

My blog about the person who guided me toward reconciliation with my surgeon.

Not my fault either

Patients often blame themselves when complications occur, all those ‘what if?’ questions. I wish that my surgeon had told me that it was not my fault either.

My turn to apologise

I said some pretty hurtful things to my surgeon, often through frustration of not knowing how to express what I was thinking. They were words that I meant at the time, but in hindsight, I appreciate that I wrongly judged him.

Forget me not

Surgeons naturally learn from bad experiences; but how many tell their patient about those lessons learnt.

Leave a comment